Fukuoka Castle Ruins
Fukuoka Castle was built by feudal lord Nagamasa Kuroda in Fukuoka-city in 1601 and was
called Maizuru castle. Part of stone wall and canal, and the Tamon tower are still left intact as
they were back then.
There is also a nice view of the city from the former main citadel. Parts of the castle’s former moats
were used to construct nearby Ohori koen Park, a pleasant and picturesque public city park.
At the present, the area around the ruins of Castle is also part of Maizuru park. The place is
famous for its beautiful plum and cherry blossoms.
|Address||Jonai, Chuo-ku, Fukuoka-city|
5 minutes walk from Subway Ohri-koen station
15 minute by a vehicle from JR Hakata station
Home Tailor-made tours Study tours Christian Pilgrimage tours Golf tour Kyushu tour packages